Heart of Texas

About Our Chapter

NCL, Inc., Heart of Texas Chapter is a group of mothers and daughters who have come together in a commitment to community service, leadership development and cultural experiences.
Members shall reside in or the Ticktocker must attend school within the Loop 610, Houston, Texas or City of Bellaire, Texas area. Like all NCL, Inc. Chapters, Heart of Texas aims to foster the mother-daughter relationship by serving its communities together.

NCL Board 2023-24 

Join Our Chapter

Interested in joining our chapter? Membership opportunities are dependent on chapter openings.

If you know someone in our chapter, talk to her about getting started, membership obligations and our membership drive timeline.  If you do not know someone in NCL, you are invited to complete this Membership Inquiry Form.

Membership Inquiry Form

For any questions regarding Membership, requests for transfers or assistance with connecting as a Sustainer, email us.

The Heart of Texas Chapter will begin its Membership Drive for the Class of 2030 on January 15, 2024.  Membership will be open to mothers with daughters who are currently in the 6th grade and will be entering 7th grade in the 2024-25 school year. Our members must reside in or have a 6th grade daughter who attends school within Loop 610 or in the City of Bellaire.   

Consistent with prior years, we are conducting mandatory information meetings for Prospective Members. These meetings will help to establish expectations and provide an understanding of membership obligations. All meetings will be held at the West U Community Building (6104 Auden). The dates and times of the meetings are as follows:

Wednesday, January 24, 2024 @ 7 p.m.
Sunday, January 28, 2024 @ 3 p.m.
Monday, February 5, 2024 @ 7 p.m.   

*Sign up for one of our Prospective Member Information Meetings here.

*Due date for Prospective Member Applications is March 1, 2024.

QUESTIONS?  Contact VP of Membership Suzanne Hines at suzjmurray@yahoo.com

Mothers and their daughters (grades 7-12) participate in a program that embraces:

Community Service

We understand and serve communities in partnership with local and national nonprofits. Each NCL, Inc. chapter promotes social awareness by considering the local community’s needs and selecting appropriate non-profit organizations to support through different volunteer activities.

We work with the following philanthropies:

  • Agape Development
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • American Heart Association
  • American Red Cross
  • BakerRipley
  • BEAR: BE A Resource for CPS Kids
  • Best Friends
  • Bo’s Place
  • Camp For All
  • Christian Community Service Center
  • Disaster Response
  • Easter Seals Greater Houston
  • Elijah Rising
  • Emergency Aid Coalition
  • Houston Food Bank
  • Interfaith Ministeries
  • Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Houston Gulf Coast Chapter
  • Kids’ Meals, Inc.
  • MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Memorial Hermann
  • Museum of Fine Arts Houston
  • Nature Discovery Center
  • Nehemiah Center
  • Operation Gratitude
  • SEARCH Homeless Services
  • Sight Into Sound
  • Star of Hope
  • Texas Children’s Hospital
  • The Center for Pursuit (Serving Persons with Developmental Disabilities)
  • The Children’s Assessment Center
  • The Kindness Campaign
  • The River Performing & Visual Arts Center
  • West U Senior Services
  • West University Little League Challenger Division

Leadership Development

We build capable, courageous leaders through opportunities to learn, reflect and develop. Our leaders become successful in their education, career and communities by learning the necessary skills during their NCL experience.

Examples of skills developed include:

  • Confidence
  • Consensus building
  • Team building
  • Conflict resolution
  • Event planning
  • Parliamentary procedure

Our Chapter Board of Directors:

  • President: Margaret Pinkston
  • President Elect: Kellie Lawrence
  • Secretary: Monica Bowes
  • Treasurer: Lisa Louis
  • Parliamentarian: Amy Holmes
  • Vice President Communications: Julie Gibson
  • Vice President Membership: Suzanne Hines
  • Vice President Philanthropy: Shanna Bass
  • Vice President New Members: Melissa Burton
  • Vice President Ticktockers: Cecile Deutschen
  • Sustainer Liaison: Killian Gilbert-Smith
  • Vice President Chapter Engagement and Inclusion: Abeer Patel

Cultural Experiences

We preserve National Charity League traditions and core values, while appreciating the growth that comes from connecting with different communities and cultures. We continually strive to build stronger ties with our communities and the individuals within them. It is through this understanding that we grow and develop broader worldviews that will shape and support our lives.

  • Traditions – We celebrate the richness of our history through traditions that honor the past while serving the future.
  • Values – We embrace values that make us strong as an organization of mother-daughter leaders.
  • Community Connections – We build connections through experiences that impact our communities.
  • Etiquette – We encourage and mentor kind, respectful and gracious social conduct.

Chapter History

On November 18, 2002, an informational meeting was held at the home of Barbara Foxhall. Those attending were Leslie Kelso, Kathy Rhoades, Tina Melo, Lori Hessel, Angela Clarke, Stephanie Cocke, Mary Schuler, Jane Kochman, Cynthia Lokken and Sudha Subramani. The group decided to form a new chapter for women with daughters who live or attend school inside Loop 610 or Bellaire. Lana McDaniel, who started the Bayou Villages Chapter, agreed to be the Expansion Chapter Advisor.

On March 9, 2003, the group held a Formation Meeting at St. John the Divine. Approximately 124 Patronesses and Ticktockers attended. At this meeting, the name “Heart of Texas” was chosen. Michele Crabtree, National Council Expansion Chapter Development VP, attended as well as Linda Martens, National Council President.

On March 17, the National Council Board of Directors approved the Heart of Texas request to form as a chapter. The membership closed in July with 125 Patronesses and 136 Ticktockers. Founding Board Members include: Barbara Foxhall, Estelle Lozmack, Sharon Pyburn, Pamela Blakely, Anne Kirkland, Stephanie Cocke, Janice Kemp, Ruth Davis and Patricia Young.

On January 18, 2004, the Chapter was granted change of status from Prospective Chapter to Provisional Chapter.

On January 10, 2005, the Chapter was approved for advancement to Chartered Chapter Status.

On April 5, 2005, the National Charity League, Inc., Heart of Texas Chapter was incorporated in the state of Texas as a non-profit corporation and was granted 501(c)(3) status under the Internal Revenue Code.

Past Presidents

Founding President – Barbara Foxhall
2004-2005 – Barbara Foxhall
2005-2006 – Mary Schuler
2006-2007 – Bonnie Clements
2007-2008 – Pam Barksdale
2008-2009 – Paige Erwin
2009-2010 – Elizabeth Pringle Johnson
2010-2011 – Alice Rohrman
2011-2012 – Mara Buchholz
2012-2013 – Amanda Hansen
2013-2014 – Barbara Catechis
2014-2015 – Keli Luce
2015-2016 – Sherri Walsh

2016-2017 – Debie Hanna
2017-2018 – Jennifer Rosenfeld
2018-2019 – Ann Hill
2019-2020 – Judy Cheng
2020-2021 – Leslie Ashby
2021-2022 – Mary Catherine Lewis
2022-2023 – Karen Yeager